Community Foundation of the Virginias Inc

Grants and Scholarships

In its more than 20 years of grantmaking, the Community Foundation has supported dozens of worthwhile community organizations and projects and hundreds of deserving students with scholarship assistance. With the inclusion of the 2021 awards, the foundation has returned more than $3,819,826 to the area since 1997 in grants and scholarships.


Below is information about the foundation’s Grants Program and Scholarships Program.


Lists of Grants and Scholarships for the last several years can be found at the bottom of the page.


The Community Foundation is pleased to announce the award of 55 grants for 2021. These awards totaling more than $233,276 represent the foundation’s 23rd annual grant cycle supporting local nonprofit groups.


Applying for Grants in 2022


You may download the Guidelines and Application with these links:

Grants Guidelines

Grants Application


With the inclusion of the 2021 awards, the foundation has returned $2,539,039 to the area since 1997 in grants.

The Grants Committee is chaired by Kathleen Blaydes and is composed of Mary Jo Babbitt, Marie Blackwell, Carole Dodson, Deborah Garton, Craig Hammond, Kermit Moore, Doris Sue Kantor, and Peter Taylor.


The Board of Directors of the Community Foundation met in May 2021. It approved 111 scholarship recommendations for 71 recipients totalling $278,800.00 in awards from the Scholarship Committee.


These students are graduating seniors at high schools in Mercer, McDowell, and Fayette counties in West Virginia, and Tazewell County, Virginia, or are college students who have been awarded a scholarship on a continuing basis.


Thirty individual endowed funds awarded this year’s scholarships . The scholarships were awarded to graduating seniors at eight area high schools and to students attending several colleges and universities. Thirty-seven graduating high school seniors received awards, and 35 college students received awards.


Scholarship recipients are chosen through a competitive application process by the Scholarship Committee, which is chaired by Carole Dodson, with members Gene Bailey, George Brooks, Tom Chaffins, Deborah Garton, Harry Kammer, Lisa Lineberry, Mary Raub, and Sharon Webster, and Cathy Zimmerman.

Information for Scholarship Seekers

To see a list of Scholarship Funds and information about the scholarships program, go to 2022 Scholarships.

Applying for Scholarships in 2022

Some scholarships will have a blue circle icon with an “i” in it. Hold your mouse over this icon for important information about this scholarship’s requirements.


To begin the application process, follow this link, and follow the instructions for “Create New Account.”


If you have any trouble with the online application, email with an explanation of your problem. We will respond as promptly as possible to your problem.


If you have questions about scholarships offered by the Community Foundation that are not answered on the Web site, please contact the Foundation office (304) 324-0222 or email: